Lost Is Lost

Have you ever sent mail out in the world, only to discover it did not reach its destination?
That happened to me recently. I found out that two items I sent, one in September and one late December, never arrived.

I visited my local post office for a chat about this.

Approaching the very nice postal clerk, I said, “What happens to mail that is lost?”

Sounding concerned, he asked, “Did you lose a package or a card?”

I said, “The card I sent my friend at the end of September never arrived, nor did my rent check for January.”

He said, “We do not have a place mail goes when it is lost. Lost is lost. Sometimes mail gets misplaced, but if it’s lost, it’s lost.”

I said, “But where does it go when it’s lost?”

He replied, “We do not have a place that mail goes when it’s lost. Lost is lost.”

I recounted the above story in last night’s email to my mother.

Unfortunately, she never received it.

It was lost.

9 thoughts on “Lost Is Lost

  1. I have it on the best authority that all mail–regardless of country of origin–ends up in this huge pit in Iceland where the Huldufolks (Icelandic elves) sort through them, searching for chocolates and salted herrings. The rest of the mail is then sent on its way except many never reach its destination because the address has been smeared with food stains. Hope this helps, Eva. . . .

    Like

  2. Ohhhhhh, thanks to “sammee 44’s” reply, I now know why Iceland has become a popular tourists’ attraction: chocolate, herring, and piles of lost mail. Thanks to Eva for introducing one of the philosophical mysteries of the U.S. Postal Service. I hope that this comment won’t get lost.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. And now, I have good news to share. One of my lost pieces of mail came back to me! I think it had read my blog and decided to return. I’m hoping the word will reach the other lost item. Keep your fingers crossed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

