Feeling Sorry For The Crook

Because of my recent malady, I decided to repost this blog from Red Room, too. Enjoy … and stay well!
**************************************

I feel sorry for the crook.

The crook of my elbow, that is.

I feel sorry for the crook of my elbow subjected to my recent illness.

In case you haven’t heard, sneezing and coughing into the crook of your elbow has become the surefire way to prevent the spread of germs.

When this method came into vogue, I couldn’t be bothered. It seemed too complicated, especially if I was feverish and coughing my head off. I didn’t want to worry about whether the angle of my elbow was acute or obtuse. I preferred to cough into my awaiting hand.

Then I went out to dinner and my friend’s six-year-old coughed into his awaiting elbow.

It was a turning point.

If he could do it, so could I.

So I practiced.

Every time I coughed or sneezed, I held my arm up, bent it, and deposited my germs.

Fast forward to the recent, recent past, when I came down with … not pneumonia, not oldmonia, not oola goola dystonia (thankfully, I had received my vaccination), but a very mild form of … the common cold.

I sneezed, holding up my arm. I sneezed again into my arm. I achooed and achooed, not eschewing my bent arm. In no time at all, the crook of my elbow became soggy with spray from my nose.

I worried I had infected it. What would happen when I unbent my elbow? Would all the germs disperse? Where would they go?

As I contemplated these questions, I also pondered how popular sneezing and coughing into one’s arm had become. It had certainly caught on. You could even say it’s gone viral.

2 thoughts on “Feeling Sorry For The Crook

  1. The crook is going to be crooked after all the exertion and repetition Your clever use of language dispels all the bad viral stuff; the humor deserves to make the other kind of viral rounds. Be well soon!

    Like

  2. You know—after all that sneezing and coughing into the crook of the elbow–where does all those sprayed germs go? I’ve often wondered why the cold remedy people haven’t come up with “elbow covers”–sneeze and discard. . .there’s a fortune to be made with this idea. . .Meanwhile, Eva–I hope you and your “Crook” have recovered!

    Like

Leave a Reply

