Identified Flying Object

Fall came early this year.

One minute I was walking along, seeing shops and passerby; the next I was hurtling through space, landing with a thud on the sidewalk.

I wish someone could invent a way for humans to fly. Although my arms looked like wings jutting out, they did not keep me aloft. Perhaps, as my partner said, I did not flap hard enough.

In case you were wondering what the unidentified flying object was in Oakland yesterday, I wanted to let you know it was I.

And if you are wondering why you haven’t heard from me in awhile, I’m busy icing my badly bruised ribs, thigh, and ego.

6 thoughts on “Identified Flying Object

  1. One time I took a tumble off some concrete steps and landed on my face. I had a scraped forehead, scraped knees and what was turning into a magnificent black eye. It was too late to cancel my dinner date so I went–looking as if I had a major fight and lost. The restaurant owner felt so badly for me, he gave me dinner on the house. I took a lot of teasing that week and I think “doors” came into it a lot. I hope you heal soon, Eva—am so glad nothing was broken.
    Get well soon!

    Like

  2. Ouch! What a nasty thing to happen! Very sorry for the bruises and discomfort! May every day bring you relief from pain. I’m glad that nothing was broken, except for your exceptional record of being a super walker–traveler–observer of scenes.

    Like

  3. I once slipped in front of 28 first graders. I luckily came down in a half split with my skirt still modestly protecting all the bits. The strangest part of all was my knee was skinned, but my panty hose had nary a run. Hope you are healing quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

