Tag, You’re It

My throat was parched. I had been walking for a couple of hours. I regretted not taking water with me. I felt I couldn’t go any further without something to quench my intense thirst.

I went in the corner grocery and bought a 16 ounce can of coconut water. I wanted a straw, but the store didn’t have any and referred me to the juicery across the street.

A tiny paper price tag stuck to the metal pull back tab. I tried to peel off the price sticker, but it held on fast. I decided  it would be easier to lift up the tab. It wasn’t. I tugged. It stayed flat against the lid. I asked the counterman for help. He used the bottom of another can to nudge open the top of my can. “Clever,” I said, amazed by his wizardry.

Then I gasped. The price sticker was dangling off the tab, hovering over the coconut water. I had to act fast so it wouldn’t jump off, dissolving into my special drink.

I poked my finger in. The lid hole was too narrow and the tag too far back for me to reach. My rescue effort was too late.

Some prices are hard to swallow. This one went down easily.

I guess the price was right.

 

2 thoughts on “Tag, You’re It

  1. Witty and clever anecdote! I’m glad that your finger didn’t get stuck when you poked into the opening. Instead of wearing a dangling earring as an ornament, you would have ended walking around town with a dangling can on your finger.

    Like

Leave a Reply

