Which Came First–the Egg or the Chicken?

Before meeting a friend at the theater last Friday evening, I stopped by a market for a pear. While washing it off in the back of the store, a pair brought a carton of eggs to the clerk’s attention. They said, “We bought this, not realizing the eggs were fertile. Could we return it for a different kind?”

I asked what fertile meant. The clerk said it meant the eggs could hatch.

Was I surprised! I’ve bought that kind many times. Little did I know that instead of my usual scrambled eggs, I could have had half a dozen baby chicks running around my place.

Eggs, you just don’t know what they’re cracked up to be.

6 thoughts on “Which Came First–the Egg or the Chicken?

Leave a Reply

