My Sink Stopper Support Group

Sink or swim?

That was the first thing I thought when I woke this morning. I needed to decide whether to deal with my sink first or go swimming.

Sink, I think.

I sought guidance from my crystal ball: AKA the Internet. Within seconds of typing “how to unstick a stuck sink stopper,” dozens of articles appeared. Not only that, there were YouTube videos!

Let me back up.

Note to reader: my stuck sink stopper was not due to a backed up sink. It was due to an overeager  washer woman, AKA yours truly.

My pants had a stain and I wanted to soak them. I put the stopper in the sink, added water and soap, my pants, said the magic words, “scrub a dub dub,” and watched as the water flowed out. I readjusted the stopper, added water and soap, my pants, said the magic words. All was well.

Until later, when I couldn’t unstick my sink stopper. I tried and tried, but it was a big drain of my energy.

Today I read an article that said to take apart the sink. No thanks. Next I watched a video narrated by a woman with a soothing voice. She demonstrated the fine art of using a suction cup on the metal stopper. Easy peasy. I also found solace in the fact that her video had over 194,000 views. I wasn’t the only one dealing with a stuck sink stopper.

With my support group cheering me on, I went to the hardware store and purchased a small suction cup. It didn’t work.

I put on my thinking cap. Then got  my pocketknife and inserted its tip around the stopper’s metal edges. Success, at last!

I’ll make my own video. Unstick Stuck Sink Stopper will surely be a show stopper.

Coming soon to a theater near you!

6 thoughts on “My Sink Stopper Support Group

  1. “Unstuck Stuck Sink Stopper” can be a new rap beat. Try saying it fast. Unstoppable–that’s you! And the stain itself? Can you star in a cheery TV ad, showing the smiling, beaming laundry person ecstatic about his or her (always) new, improved cleaner for the cleanest pants in town?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think this sink stopper piece was a real tongue-twisty piece to read. And, isn’t it always the truth–that the simplest basic solution is the best? Look at computers–try the unplug/plug solution first and that’s the sharpest solution you found for sink stoppers 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

